Skip to main content
Back to top
Page banner

Our geography

We are defined by the shared space of the North Sea.

Main content
Map of Northern Europe showing the boundaries of the North Sea Region.

The North Sea Region

The North Sea Region 2021-2027 includes territories in seven countries: Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Norway, Sweden, and the Netherlands. 

They all share the North Sea as a common asset. In addition, they share many cultural and geographic characteristics.

NUTS regions

NUTS - Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics - is a system for dividing up the EU territory. Not just for statistical purposes, but also for the framing of EU regional policies. The North Sea Region 2021-2027 is thus defined by eligible NUTS regions. 

See the list of NUTS 2 regions in the North Sea Region

You can find a more detailed list of NUTS regions in the full-text programme

Take a tour around the North Sea Region

Yellow platform rising above a dark blue ocean.

Offshore test facilities are crucial for SMEs to bring their innovations to the market. Photo: Inn2POWER

Wind-assisted ship equipped with two tall rotor cylinders.